Celebrate HIP Week

Hello, my fellow colleagues – Happy Health Information Professionals (HIP) Week!

Health information (HI) professionals play an integral role in many institutions because of the value we bring to our jobs every day. We are highly trained in the latest technologies and applications and often understand the larger overall picture of processes and workflow better than our non-HI peers. The roles that HI professionals play vary, but often you can find us at the intersection of healthcare, technology, and business. We connect people, systems, and processes to help make sure that data remains accurate, accessible, protected, and complete. So, what does Minnesota look like?

We all have a role to play, and Minnesota has such a widespread group of individuals impacting our state in various organizations. It’s great to see and I’m lucky to be representing such an active, wonderful group of professionals this year as your president.

I’d like to take a moment to highlight our wonderful board and committee chairs. These individuals have worked hard for our membership all year long to ensure we are advancing our profession at our organizations, as well as at the state and national levels.

President-Elect: Ticia Selmon, RHIA, CCS, CDIP

Past President: Lori Diederichs, MS, RHIA

Secretary: Kelli Dobrava, RHIA

Treasurer: Nicholas Buelow, RHIT

Delegate Directors:

    • Christy May, RHIA, CDIP, CCS-P, CPD, CRC
    • Nyssa Fuhreck, RHIA, MA
    • Theresa Honsey, RHIA

Marketing and Communications: Christina Snaza, MS, RHIA

Advocacy Chairs:

    • Ilene Estabrook, BA, RHIT, CHCO, CHAM
    • Waneta Perkins, RHIA

Coding and Data Quality:

    • Vicki Olson, RHIT
    • Regina Kraus, MSA, RHIA, CDIP, BSBC


    • Regina Kraus, MSA, RHIA, CDIP, BSBC
    • Jacki Waltman, CHPS
    • Linda Feshami, MSHI, RHIA, CHC, CDIP, CRC

Education Committee:

    • Stephanie Luthi-Terry, MA, RHIA, CHPS, FAHIMA
    • Laura Blabac, RHIA, CHDA

Executive Director: Sue Nathe, RHIT

Thank you all for all the work you’ve done this year – MNHIMA is better because of your leadership, work efforts, and guidance. It truly takes a village!

Lastly, I’d like to congratulate our incoming board, as well as our award and scholarship recipients.

President-Elect: Neysa Noreen, MS, RHIA

Delegate Director: Barb Miller, RHIT, CCS, CCS-P, AHIMA-Approved Revenue Cycle Trainer, Risk Adjustment Coding & Auditing: Inpatient Coding Microcredentials

Secretary: Kristi Lundgren, MS, RHIA

Audit Committee: Susanne Baron, RHIA

Audit Committee: Michael Steffen, RHIT, CCS

Distinguished Member: Kristi Lundgren, MS, RHIA

Mark Dietz Rising Star Professional: Mikaela Vadnais, RHIA

Shirley Eichenwald-Maki Outstanding Student: Solyana Negash

Associate Level
Erin Maloney            $1,500.00
Emily Struck             $1,000.00
Tammy Krogstad      $1,000.00
Teara LeClair               $750.00

Bachelor Level
Reyan Nedif             $2,000.00

Reviewing the bios and submissions of all these individuals this last month, I’m humbled and eager to see what the coming years will hold for our state and profession.

Want to meet and greet these individuals? We are a week away from our biggest event of the year – the MNHIMA Annual Meeting! We will be honoring all these appointees and award winners there. Don’t miss your chance to network and earn up to 25 CEUs – registration closes at 11:59 PM on April 19th.

Registration Link:  MNHIMA 2024 Registration

Let’s celebrate together the meaningful work we all do – thank you for all you do for our state and profession!

Brandi Durkin, RHIA
MNHIMA President 2023-2024